Piramal Glass operates new 145 tpd cosmetics & perfumery glass melting furnace from HORN

Piramal Glass Limited (formerly known as Gujarat Glass Pvt Ltd) is a global specialist located in India to design, produce and decorate of premium glass packaging for pharma, cosmetics, perfumery, skin-care, food, and beverage industry. Piramal Glass is one of the largest player in the Asian premium glass-packaging segment.

The company has four manufacturing facilities: one in the USA, one in Sri Lanka, and two in India (Kosamba and Jambusar) with an overall capacity of 1465 tonnes per day (TPD). The Kosamba facility has six furnaces. Piramal Glass produces there USP Type I, II and III glass bottles / vials for the pharmaceutical industry, Type III glass bottles for cosmetics & perfumery industry and also feeder-coloured bottles in various shades. The Kosamba plant contains also a dedicated facility for Type-I borosilicate glass for moulded pharmaceutical glass packaging and a dedicated facility for premium cosmetics & perfumery glass bottles.

In May 2018  HORN Glass Industries AG received the order from Piramal Glass to redesign their existing 100 tpd furnace for the premium cosmetics & perfumery bottles. The order comprised design drawings and some equipment (combustion-, boosting and reversing system) for the furnace with totally 8 forehearth lines.

HORN supplied the end fired furnace designed with appliance of the most advanced technology to save energy, reduce emission values and extend furnace life. The furnace is designed with a melting area of 82,8 m² to produce up to 145 tpd totally.

HORN  had been awarded to supervise the whole furnace repair works. However due to the Covid-19 pandemic the supervision and commissioning was done by Piramal alone with remote assistance of HORN experts. The new 145 tpd furnace was put successfully in operation in June 2020.

 

www.hornglass.com

Neuer 145 tpd Glasschmelzofen von HORN für Kosmetik- und Parfümerieflaschen für indischen Glashersteller Piramal Glass

Piramal Glass Limited (früher bekannt als Gujarat Glass Pvt Ltd) ist ein globaler Spezialist in Indien, der Premium-Glasverpackungen für die Pharma-, Kosmetik-, Parfümerie-, Hautpflege-, Lebensmittel- und Getränkeindustrie entwirft, herstellt und dekoriert. Dabei ist Piramal Glass einer der größten Hersteller von Premium-Glasverpackungen im asiatischen Raum.

Das Unternehmen verfügt über vier Produktionsstätten: eine in den USA, eine in Sri Lanka und zwei in Indien (Kosamba und Jambusar) mit einer Gesamtkapazität von 1465 Tonnen pro Tag (tpd). Die Anlage in Kosamba verfügt über sechs Öfen. Piramal Glass produziert dort Glasflaschen / Fläschchen vom Typ I, II und III für die Pharmaindustrie, Glasflaschen vom Typ III für die Kosmetik- und Parfümerieindustrie sowie Flaschen in verschiedenen Farben. In Kosamba betreibt der Spezialist auch einen Ofen für Borosilikatglas Typ I für geformte pharmazeutische Glasverpackungen und einen Ofen für Premium-Glasflaschen der Kosmetik und Parfümerieindustrie.

Im Mai 2018 erhielt die HORN Glass Industries AG von dem indischen Unternehmen den Auftrag, die bestehende 100 tpd Schmelzwanne für die Premium-Kosmetik- und Parfümerieflaschen umzuplanen. Darin enthalten waren die Detailplanung und Teile der Ausrüstung (Beheizungsausrüstung, Boostingsystem und Umsteueranlage) für den Ofen mit insgesamt 8 Vorherdlinien.

HORN lieferte die U-Flammenwanne mit modernster Technologie zur Energieeinsparung, Senkung der Emissionswerte und Verlängerung der Ofenreise. Die Anlage ist mit einer Schmelzfläche von 82,8 m² ausgelegt, um insgesamt bis zu 145 Tonnen Glas am Tag zu produzieren.

Ein weiterer Bestandteil des Auftrages für HORN war die Überwachung der gesamten Ofenreparaturarbeiten. Aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie wurde die Bauüberwachung und Inbetriebnahme jedoch allein von Piramal mit Fernunterstützung von HORN-Experten durchgeführt. Die neue Anlage wurde im Juni 2020 nun erfolgreich in Betrieb genommen.

 

www.hornglass.com